According to the Constitution of Liberia, the Senate is composed of 30 senators elected by the registered voters in each of the 15 counties. In the 52nd legislature, senators of the first category are those who received the highest number of votes cast and serve terms of nine years, while senators of the second category are those who receive the second highest number of votes and serve terms of six years. Beginning with the 53rd legislature in 2012, all senators will be elected for nine year terms. The vice president of the Republic is the president of the Senate and presides over its deliberations without the right to vote, except in the case of a tie vote.  In the absence of the president of the Senate, the president pro-tempore will preside. The president pro-tempore is elected from among the 30 Senators once every six years.

Senate Directory: 53rd Session

Name Constituency Phone Office
Sando D. Johnson Bomi +231886-516-644
Morris G. Saytumah Bomi +231886-511-697
Henry Willie Yallah Bong +231886449150 2nd Floor
Jewel Howard-Taylor Bong +231886-821-344
Armah Zolu Jallah Gbarpolu +231886518595 Ground Floor
Daniel F. Naatheen Gbarpolu +213886-513-285
Jonathan L. Kaipay Grand Bassa +231777-576137 1st Floor
Nyonblee Kangar Lawrence Grand Bassa +231777777560
Edward B. Dagoseh Grand Cape Mount +231886 556 298
Cllr. Varney G. Sherman Grand Cape Mount +231886 511-734